Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Welding inconel help
- - By Transienst Date 08-31-2011 22:02 Edited 08-31-2011 23:01
Hello everyone,

Hope this is a good place to post..

Id like to ask some questions/have someone look over a job im currently working on. Im an entry level welder with only 3yr experience (newb). I wish my job offered better training... its very stressful to basically go from a votech school level and be asked to do something like this without any training or info. So this is a welding inconel by the seat of your pants thread.. hold on!

Me:
99% of what I weld is 304L thinwall tubing. Very little inconel but.. what ive put out up to date is fine.

Filler:
Im GTAW shc10 Inconel 600 to shc10 Inconel 600 and using ERNiCrFe-5 (alloy 62)... ppl at my job weld anything inconel with this stuff.. cast SS to 600, 600 to 600, mild steel to inconel... its the weld all inco at my job. Thats my first question...  What do you guys recomend on the 600 to 600 cant seem to find anything on ERNiCrFe-5. I do see alloy 82 is recomended but, whats alloy 62 good for.. could it be everything? Im also welding shc10 Inconel 600 to a .75" 304L flange and found ERNiCrMo-3 (625 filler) is recomended so thats what im using for that.

The app:
This application will go thru extream heat cycles and vibration for long periods of time... I think 300c' to 900C'. Engineers have told me theese are the materials they want to use so im really just looking for the best practice to weld them. If any info is needed to help out please ask.

Sorry if this is hard to read... Im really new to this and just trying to do things right.

I did half today.. and have to admit it was super stressful.

Ill put down the prcedure I do.. maybe some of you could point out things I miss or tips for the next time. I have to build 7 more after this one.