Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / The demand of boilermaker job\ illinois
- - By joshuawarfield Date 11-25-2002 21:42
I have been weding in the manufacturing invironment for around 5 years now, and was thinking about the boilermaker apprentice thing. If any boilermakers out there, could guide me at all, that would be great!\demand/pay\environment\
Parent - By boilermaker (**) Date 11-26-2002 02:01
Before I respond, what area of Illinois are you living in? I can tell you about two locals in Illinois, Locals 60, and Local 1, but I can't tell you anything about 363 because I've never worked out of there. I'll check the post tomorrow.
Parent - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 11-26-2002 02:32
I don't know what the union side is but the differences in shop and field work are pretty consistent.

SHOP=Same place from week to week
FIELD=The JOBS MOVE and you move with them if you wan't to work.

SHOP= Welds are usually easy to get to.
FIELD=Usually Hard to get to. (Except for water wall tubes)

SHOP= I have made up to $15.00 in a shop (Welding Tubes)
Field= I have made $23.00 + Perdeim (Welding Tubes)

SHOP= Due to a consistent work environment, the shop is usually safer
FIELD= Not as safe but this could vary with the contractor.

SHOP= Routine work (Most of the time)
FIELD= More variety

SHOP=Sleep at home
FIELD= Sleep somewhere else

If you have been doing boiler related work in the shop such as waterwall and superheater fabrication, just think of it as the same with your welding machine moved 3 floors away, someones helper setting your machine to gouge while your putting a mirror welded root pass in a tube and laying in some boiler dust while its 120 degrees since the other boilers around your are still running.

As far as the work goes I prefer the field but I hate being away from my wife and kids now so I try to stay home.