Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Offshore advice
- - By Robert48 (**) Date 09-27-2011 02:14
I am looking for some advice on getting started in the offshore industry. I see all kind of advertising on the web from companies claming to be able to place you in an offshore position (for a small fee of course). I don't trust any of them. Although I have not worked offshore I think I would be more qualified than most new applicants. I am a 6G certified welder, NCCO certified crane operator, Class A CDL driver,  have TWIC card. I also am about to take Gulf Safe and HUET training in two weeks as I have been told these are a must have.  I google some of the companies that operate off shore rigs in the gulf and they all seem to be based pretty close to each other and a few have career openings that say apply in person. I was thinking off taking a couple of days and "beating the streets" around there trying to find an opertunity to get my foot in the door. Although I would like to weld, or operate I am not too good to do anything. Any advice or contact info you could pm me would be greatly appreciated.

P.S     I want honest advice. If I am wasting my time I want to know.
Parent - - By gndchuck (**) Date 09-27-2011 12:32