Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / getting hired
- - By chickweldor (*) Date 10-06-2011 17:07
I am a 21yr old weldor with almost 2 yrs welding exprience i'm been  looking for a job in a welding shop  but I really don't know what to say so far they just tell me no  what do you recomend telling them if you're trying to get hired
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 10-06-2011 23:40
Ironed shirt, clean pants, dirty leathers!

Excellent resume'

Need to know more about your training and experience before much more advice.  So say more

I can tell you the last question you should ask during any job interview.

"When do I start?"
Parent - - By chickweldor (*) Date 10-09-2011 17:10
thanks for the advice.expierence is limited to SMAW all positions in plate and pipe some FCAW welding self taught no welding schools around here lots of metalworking shops though hopefully one will give me a chance
Parent - By alan domagala (**) Date 10-09-2011 19:34
Professional attitude (I'm not your "bro"), proper attire, (no pants hanging off your ass) enthusiasm, (act like your a professional welder) and leave the cell phone at home! I recently was explaining the weld test for this new hire and when I look over he's TEXTING on his phone. I promptly told him to get out. Appearance, attitude, enthusiasm, and using the correct welding terminology go along way with me.
Parent - By jon20013 (*****) Date 10-11-2011 03:42
CW you just keep after it, ask them to at least let you test before they turn you away.  If it's the ame shop try another.  You'll get there eventually (I know it's frustrating).  Depending on where you live, maybe check some unions?  2 years is not a lot of experience so that's working against you at the moment, just remember you'll have to prove yourself for a few more years.  Good luck and keep the faith, whenever possible try learning some more processes, maybe GTAW?