Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Need Spool Gun advice
- - By billnunez Date 12-06-2002 00:51
Hi all--

I'm a newbie here and just bought a Miller Regency 250 CV MIG supply with no feeder. I primarily want to switch between light duty (up to 1/4") aluminum and steel work, so my thought was to get a spool gun and pure argon gas and just have to switch wires in the gun. Welding is a sideline to my carpentry, so it's for occasional use, but I want it to be a versatile setup should my needs grow.

Does anyone have experience with the various spool guns? The ones I'm considering are the Miller Spoolmatic 30a, Spoolmate 3045, Profax AEC200-4D, and a generic 250 amp package from welders-direct.com that looks like either a knock-off or OEM version of the Spoolmate. HELP!! Am I crazy to consider using a spool gun for everything? Which one should I get?

Also, I've been advised that pure argon will probably be OK to use for everything so I don't have to switch bottles when going from AL to steel, any thoughts?

Thanks in advance!
Parent - By welder_guy2001 (***) Date 12-06-2002 01:53
you also have to watch it when you weld w/ steel wire and then switch to AL wire, or vice-versa...after a while of using either wire, some of the filler wire will coat the inside of the wire tube and the contact tip in powder form. not a big problem if you're welding on occasion...but keep in mind, the more you weld, the more powder from other wires that could be contaminating your weld.