Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / AWS Learning & Education / "New" teacher - needs advice
- - By StockbridgeHS Date 12-06-2002 18:09
Hello,
I am a 7th year HS Construction teacher that wants to put some of our welding equipment to use. One of my classes - second and third year students - has become a 2-1/2 hour class this year, and the traditional curriculum will not be enough to last until June.

I have limited experience at welding - one year as a millwright (1980). Nevertheless, I feel confident that I could do an adequate job of introducing high school guys (and girls) to the welding trade.

We have a Millermatic 130 Autoarc (TIG, MIG?) - which is in minor disrepair, a Craftsman Heavy Duty arc (buzz box), tons of rods, and an oxygen/acytelene(sp?) torch.

I have more questions than I know what to do with, so I'll leave the floor open to you guys for comments, recommendations, etc.

Thanks in advance,
Joe

Parent - By TimGary (****) Date 12-06-2002 22:19
Maybe you could...
Start with the basics such as oxy-fuel cutting equipment safety, grinding safety, UV light safety, first aid for burns and electric shock safety.
Then teach them how to use a torch, so they can make the pieces they need to weld together.
Make sure they have to grind their own cuts. That's the best, quickest way I know for somone to learn how to use a torch better.
Then get into arc welding and filler metal selection for different materials.
If you research the past posts on this board you'll find a lot of good information concerning educational materials and books.
Good Luck and thanks for trying to spead the knowledge of a talent starved trade.
Tim
Parent - By fbrieden (***) Date 12-08-2002 01:37
Six year college level Welding and Metal Fabrication instructor, and second year, secondary Welding Technology instructor. If I may be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.