Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / D1.3 Fillet weld Examination question
- - By pipes (**) Date 11-12-2011 16:21
I am a welding instructor and CWI in Wisconsin. I deal almost exclusively with D1.1 and ASME section IX. I am helping a local company train welders to pass D1.3 qualifications on 2mm sheet steel using vertical down tee joints and vertical down flare bevel joints using GMAW ER70S-6 and SG-AC-13 (Strange gas I know, but that's what they use). They are doing a "boot camp" for prospective employees that includes two weeks of welding and print reading training. After we train them, the companies CWI's will qualify them. I am somewhat familiar with D1.3 as I have read it several times in the last month, but I don't use it much at all and i don't understand something. Here is my question:

The company's CWI is telling these guys that on the fillet weld break test, the weld can not fracture at all. He says that the base metal must fracture completely around the weld and if the weld breaks at any point the welder fails the qualification. I questioned him on this as D1.3 section 4.6.2.2 (c) reads:
"After visual inspection of acceptable welds, the two pieces shall be completely separated by either bending the sheets or hammering a wedge until either weld or sheet metal fails." (d) "The fractured surface shall show complete fusion at the root of the joint."

I interpret this as saying that if the weld breaks down the middle it is still acceptable as long as there is complete fusion at the root. I realize that a company can have a higher standard than the code, but they are saying that this is what the code means. Is this accurate?

Hopefully someone is more familiar with D1.3 than I am. Thanks for the help.
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 11-12-2011 16:43 Edited 11-12-2011 16:46
Jeremiah!