Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Welding Fundamentals / Roll Bender
- - By aevald (*****) Date 12-06-2011 19:13 Edited 12-06-2011 19:19
Hello everyone, been a while since I've posted much into this section of the forum. This is a project that I have been working on off and on for close to 9 months. As with most things that I have built, I have certainly found items that could use some improving and modification. After completion of this, operating it, and then seeing some other similar machines I have come to the conclusion that I will likely be building another one. The next one will incorporate some fairly extensive design changes. As to this version: It does function fairly well and is capable of doing quite a few different things that I wasn't able to do before. The biggest plus was the cost, it's built from items that I had been hording over the years and finally was able to put to use. I have done some of the simpler machining and have some additional dies coming for it that the machine shop will be helping out with, mainly dies for rolling pipe: 1/2",3/4", 1", 1 1/4", 1 1/2", and some additional dies for rolling square tubing of different sizes, maybe even some angle iron die sets. The roll power is provided by a gear reducer with additional gearing via sprocket and chain, the crimp adjustment is done via an air over hydraulic porta-power system. I've included just a couple of examples of quickly rolled items. Hope you folks enjoy this. Best regards, Allan

Almost forgot, it doesn't have any guarding on it yet but that will be included before it every gets put to general use. I have also included a foot switch for safety, the directional switch can be set to control direction of roll rotation and then the rolls will work with depression of the foot switch.
Parent - By unclematt (***) Date 12-06-2011 19:32
Hello;
That is a mighty fine piece of equipment there. Great job.