Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Work safe related inquiry
- - By dalmat3 Date 01-24-2012 00:47 Edited 01-24-2012 00:52
Hi all
I'm a welder by trade. 6 months ago a youngun shoertened and welded 3" solid steel pin (solid rod) for a forklift
lifting carpet rolls -for local carpet wholesaler. -Moments after he collected the payment from them, the rod -fell off :eek:

Manager then dialed my number. I welded it so it will never brake off again- i have no doubts, positive :wink:
Work Safe inspected the work recently and wanted to know the max strength of this pin
Store owner called me saying that I am 'supposed to issue a letter specifying what is the max lifting capacity of this (shortened) and welded pin'
--forklift can lift 1600kg (~ 3000lbs)
-pin is 79" long, made of 3" O/D solid steel
-regular carpet rolls are 500lbs, rarely 750lbs and sometime do stick over the pin's end 5- 6'
Q:
-am i responsible to capacity-rate this tool?
-if i am, what is the formula to calculate yield or shear strength of the steel? (I know the pin will bend before my welds break, that is not an issue)
A link or formula with some specs would be greatly apprteciated. Thanks for your help

PS
picture shows the forklift and carpet lifting pin
Attachment: forkliftpinrepaire.jpg - Base plate doubled, x3 braces @ 120 deg and steel pin sleevedin 3-4" -then welded (0B)
Parent - - By 99205 (***) Date 01-24-2012 01:11
Does the pin go through the face plate or is it welded directly to the face plate?
Parent - By dalmat3 Date 01-24-2012 01:48 Edited 01-24-2012 02:02
That was the mistake of the young fella-he just Stick-welded it to the face of the (rear) base-plate
In fact, it's no wonder why it fell-off so embarrasingly...3" steel draws a lot of heat.
-There was no bevel whatsoever and weld was/applied 'cold'