Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Ethics QC1 11.4 Conflict of Interest
- - By rlovelace Date 03-28-2012 01:00
I work as a steel detailer and CWI self employed. I detailed the project for the fabricator. The contractor for the project hired the SCWI that I do work for. He cannot do the inspection and wants to send me out to the inspection. The fabricator considers this a conflict of interest clause 11.4.2, he looked it up. The owner of the project will be paying for the inspection. I don't consider this a conflict of interest. Compensation from two different parties for two different services on the same project. The big words give it to you and the little ones take it away. Any thoughts? Circumstances fully disclosed to all parties.
Thanks
Parent - By 803056 (*****) Date 03-28-2012 04:03
I believe the intent is that all parties have to be notified and agreeable if the inspector is collecting money from more than one party for services rendered on the same project.

If you are being paid by the Owner to detail the project and if you are being paid by the Owner to inspect, I see no conflict.

Al
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 03-28-2012 04:35
A detailer that knows something about welding?

I believe you should be placed in a museum just to prove there is one.
Parent - By eekpod (****) Date 03-28-2012 10:26
As long as all parties know the situation and the owner (aka the guy who's paying for the final project) doesn't have a problem, then I think your fine.
Also agreed imagine a person who knows the "details" of the project and can inspect to them, sounds good to me.
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 03-28-2012 13:11
I agree with Al (my approach may differ some, but I believe we have the same bottom line).