Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / A little tiggin
- - By weaver (***) Date 04-24-2012 01:44
Fabing a "a" frame from 3x3x1/4 ""aluminum. Little brain fart, I am welding around 254 amps . Cerated tungsten the best?.
Parent - By phaux (***) Date 04-24-2012 03:07
2% thoriated is what I like to use, but I'm no tig expert :P
Parent - By Cumminsguy71 (*****) Date 04-24-2012 10:27
I prefer the zirchoniated tungsten myself for aluminum. Have used 2% before on smaller stuff. I get all my tungsten from these folks, http://www.diamondground.com/index.html Good prices, quick on the shipping and have had no problems with the tungsten.
Parent - By 357max (***) Date 04-24-2012 23:28
If your machine has an adjustable squarewave set the time at negative to 65-68% and as been suggested point the tungsten. If the diameter of tungsten balls at that amperage; increase the diameter of tungsten. AC with pointed tungsten will round the end of tungsten but if the diameter is sized to the amperage you will have a rounded & pointed tungsten.
- - By john housel (*) Date 04-24-2012 03:33
pure  with  the green end. Make a ball on the end by running your electrode positive and slowly ramping up amps with your foot pedal till the ball forms. Then run AC current with high frequency.
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 04-24-2012 03:43
Ignore the first two responces  (with all due respect)

The cerium electrode is perfect for what you are doing.

A water cooled torch will help alot at that amperage too.
Parent - - By 99205 (***) Date 04-24-2012 05:07
You don't need to ignore anybodies response here.  People are just trying to help.  Try this link to Millers website, it will answer your questions and then some.  http://www.millerwelds.com/resources/tech_tips/TIG_tips/hints_tips.html
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 04-24-2012 05:36 Edited 04-24-2012 05:52