Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / AWS Learning & Education / I want to be an underwater welder, but I have no experience
- - By gpdwood Date 05-07-2012 13:33
I am currently working as skipper of a 60ft sailboat and I'm 32 years old. I have been thinking for a long time to move into commercial diving and underwater welding. The thing is I have no real experience other than I am a certified open water diver and have done around 200 recreational dives. Can someone give me some advise of the best way to get trained and find work. Are the trade schools that offer 20week programs worth while? do they really give you the required experience to get a job after you finish? and if not a trade school then what is the best way? I have a diploma in Dental technology from 3 years of study at a Dental School in England, and my Yacht Master off shore 200tn licence. Do you think I would be able to move into the underwater welding industry?
Parent - By Tyrone (***) Date 05-08-2012 10:34
Welcome to the Forum!

Usually, people who enter the world of underwater welding, have some skills in welding, but have held an interest in diving.  Not saying you can't do it the other way around, but I suspect that leaning welding from scratch is more difficult that learning to dive.

I cannot comment on the trade schools (don't know where you reside).  Good luck, and hope it turns out.

Tyrone
Parent - - By eekpod (****) Date 05-08-2012 10:45
Could you, yes anyone can.
Should you is the important question.