Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / CWI Work
- - By arcray (*) Date 06-20-2012 20:22
I am going to be leaving the company that I have been working with for 4 yrs. as a CWI and Bolting Inspector. Thought I would look to see whats out there. Any company's I should stay away from? Or is one as good as the next?
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 06-20-2012 20:54
So have you been in house QC or Third Party?  And which would you rather do? 

I take it since you are doing Bolting as well that you are doing structural?  Is that where you want to stay or maybe piping, or...??

Travel or local?  Where is local currently?

Have a Great Day,  Brent
Parent - - By arcray (*) Date 06-21-2012 11:06
I have been in house contract. Worked structural, tanks, piping and duct work. I am looking for contract work and always ready to travel. Live in Kentucky.

Bill
Parent - - By PWCameron (**) Date 06-22-2012 17:56
IMHO

If I were going to step away and venture out on 3rd party inspections (which I did, now I don't) I'd do my best to earn a UT Level II.  With your CWI and Bolting qualifications that UT Level II would mak you a god.
PWC
Parent - - By fsirk (*) Date 06-22-2012 18:17
I wish you the best of luck.  I have taken and passed the 40 hour Level 1 and 40 hour level II for UT and have found it impossible to get the require experience time to actually be certified.  Maybe if you have a contact in a company that does UT you would have a much better time.
Parent - By PWCameron (**) Date 06-22-2012 19:38
With a CWI, Bolting and both Level I and Level II ed requirements out of the way, and the desire to travel/relocate there are a million opportunities out there.
They'll get you the hours you need as a Trainee, Level I then Level II.
Lots of opportunity.
Look at www.inspectionjobs.com for a start.
PWC
Parent - By fsirk (*) Date 06-24-2012 18:35