Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Need Fabrication Advise
- - By argoncowboy (**) Date 07-09-2012 21:18
Im working for an engineer that has asked me to do something I've never done before. We are working 14" standard wall pipe. He wants me to saddle a 14" 3R 90 onto a 14" header. I don't have a problem laying out and welding laterals but that aint what he wants here. I've looked through all my pipe fitting books and haven't found a formula to lay out the branch/saddle on the 90. Any advise will be greatly appreciated.
Parent - - By Sourdough (****) Date 07-10-2012 06:19
You're just going to have to go into the throat of that 90 a little at a time till it comes out good on a level, my friend....
Parent - By cmays (***) Date 07-11-2012 00:43
If its some odd fitting or pipe joint.I will usually do what sourdough was saying on the first one until it comes out perfect. Then take a blank wraparound and make you a pattern for the rest.
Parent - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 07-10-2012 10:44 Edited 07-10-2012 22:57
I have never done it but believe it can be layed out using parallel line development. If I get a chance I'll make a drawing. The only thing different is the fact that the ordinates for the ell will be transfered to the point of intersection by swinging an arc from the center of the radius of the ell.

Draw an end view of the header showing the header and the ell. Draw a projection of the,end of the ell. Divide that into 8 or 16 parts. Then from the center if the ell, draw an arc from each ordinate to the point of intersection on the header. You then have something to start with.

Transferring the lengths for each ordinate would be a pain I think.

Of course some hands can probably just rough it in little by little.

This is from my phone so may have some spelling and other errors. its a pain to edit after something is typed.

Gerald

EDIT