Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Lanthanated Tungsten - Oxidation?
- - By smithdos (*) Date 01-24-2003 19:00
My company is in the process of converting to Lanthanated tungsten. We've found that some sort of "oxide" film forms on the tungsten after shutting off the arc....whatever this "film" is, it precludes a clean arc start on subsequent welds....so the welder has to either re-grind the tip, or, use some sandpaper and "scrub" the electrode.

It is a major pain, and slows the welders down a bit.

1. Does anyone else have this problem?

2. Does anyone know what the "film" is?

3. Is there anything that can be done to preclude the formation of this "film"

Regards-
Dave
Parent - By stever (**) Date 01-24-2003 21:01
I have had very little experience with this electrode, but I too have converted my training program over to Lanthanated tungsten. I treat this tungsten as I would 2% thoriated. This being that as a weldor completes a weld the torch should *not* be raised so that the tungsten is pointing upward. This keeps the argon shielding flowing in a downward position and covering the tungsten. If a post purge setting is not available on the machine, such as with a scratch start, the argon is allowed to flow until the tungsten is cool enough not to absorb oxygen and create the oxide colors. Then the torch can be moved and the valve turned off. Usually, a post purge of five to eight seconds is sufficient. So far I have not noticed any oxide film that occurs upon shutting off the arc if the argon continues to flow.
Parent - - By brande (***) Date 01-26-2003 05:32
Oxidation on tungsten electrodes can and does happen. Base metal condition, tungsten composition, tungsten quality, shield gas quality, tightness of your gas system and operator technique all can contribute.