Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / How long do you store your bend specimens?
- - By pipes (**) Date 10-08-2012 17:53
Here's a question; I have buckets and buckets of bend specimens in my lab from the last three years. I never knew the "rules" on keeping these so I have been storing them for at least 4 years as that is as long as the State of WI registrations are good before certifications expire. I never knew if this was necessary so I just kept them. I didn't realize I would be doing so many and now I have tons of them in my office and up on my mezzanine! HA! Anyway, I don't mind holding onto them but do I have to? What do you guys do? Thanks!

I also realize that State registration is different so hopefully there are some WI weld test conductors that can help with this. Thanks again!
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 10-08-2012 18:24
I'm not in WI, but I kept all of my bend test coupon samples too up to a point...got to be too much and now I toss them.
Parent - By qcrobert (***) Date 10-08-2012 19:30
I examine them, deem them acceptable or unacceptable, then scrap them.

QCRobert
Parent - - By ctacker (****) Date 10-08-2012 19:48
Ditto, With what qcrobert said.
Parent - By 803056 (*****) Date 10-08-2012 20:36
I return most of them to the welder or client. I will keep them for about 30 days if they do not want them. If they are interesting I keep them as part of my "You gotta see this" collection.  No, you don't want your samples to become part of my collection.

Best regards - Al
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 10-08-2012 20:44
Most of mine get tossed.  If they are really interesting, either for good or bad, I keep them as examples.  Some welders have asked if they can have them- please do, I don't want them taking up space.

Have a Great Day,  Brent
Parent - By Oneatatime (**) Date 10-11-2012 03:23