Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / Self-Employed Certs?
- - By OklaWelding Date 10-25-2012 19:14
I've been reading through a number of topics on here trying to understand certs. I took welding in HS though the Votech back in 2000 and got 3G certified. Did not maintained it because I never planned on welding for a living. We I'm coming up on 5 yrs now running my own welding shop. I have never had an issue in the past not having certs, but now I am looking at bidding on a job that the GC wants copies of a D1.1 cert. So I've been trying to figure out becoming D1.1 certified. After reading all the threads, I see a lot of shops administer the test and certify theirs welders in-house. So how would a single person shop do this? Does not seem ethical to certify yourself. I have a 50ton press that I could use to bend the coupons. But not sure how to handle all the paper work. No way I can afford to got to a ATF and I have not had any luck finding a CWI locally to administer the test. I may end up having to pass on this job, bids have to turned in with in the week or so. I'm not sure how long it takes to file the paper work. Thanks for any suggestions!
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 10-25-2012 19:21
Looks like there should be a CWI locally to you who could help with your certification process. I agree that it looks funny when a single owner operator gives himself a test and declares that he passed every thing(no matter how honest you may be).
Parent - - By OklaWelding Date 10-25-2012 21:38
I will see what I can do on finding a CWI to help out. One more question. I have been toying with the idea of hiring a guy. He has no certs. Would I be able to certify him?
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 10-26-2012 03:17
WELCOME TO THE AWS WELDING FORUM!!