Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / AWS Learning & Education / Due to budget cuts to schools
- - By cavalier Date 01-28-2003 20:03
I'm a welder with 2 sons and wanted to know how to get in touch with any corporate or private group willing to donate small mig machine and torch rig to local high school auto shop. I am willing to donate some money but am limited to amount. We are in So. Cal. a state with budget problems that will cause school budget cuts. Any help to preserve youth exposure to the welding field is appreciated.
Parent - - By dee (***) Date 01-28-2003 23:08
If you are considering getting a charitable contribution from the equipment manufacturers themselves telephone them and ask who to contact at the factory for that purpose (charitible donations) and their address.

If you are at a public school in SoCal I may be able to steer you toward at least one possibility. They'd need to be able to contact you to verify the details, so I would need the specifics. Email me, but dont get your hopes up too high.

It would seem to me a service dealer for any of the major welder companies would be happy to help you with a suitable used rig especially if it had their name on it- they'd be making new customers in the bargain... yellow pages and personal contact will help.

Verifying the purpose the equipment will be put is always a necessity- there are a lot of scams going on out there.

I'd also hope somebody around the school system would have access to a directory of charitible institutions; a county librarian might also help.

Good luck and regards
d
Parent - - By cavalier Date 01-29-2003 00:14