Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Forged UT examinations
- - By supermoto (***) Date 11-15-2012 17:31
I was wondering if anyone has experience with doing any UT Examinations on Forged parts with ASTM standards.  I just started this new position and I am heading up their new NDE department.  I am experiecened in AWS and some ASME on welded connections but now I am jumping in head first with these Forged Rings.  I/we will be doing PT, UT and eventually MT on these.  We have a current complany doing all of our NDE and hopefully in a month I can take over that and start getting a couple trainees on board to start getting their hours.  I have a Responsible Level III who has jsut started going over our procedures I have rough drafts for.  After reading all of the the different specs and looking over all of the different standards I have noticed their a few things that as a UT tech I have never came accross.  One example is a ID/OD ratio, not sure exaclty what this is but I am sure it is a calculation and it relates to thicknesses and the ID and OD.  Depending on the ratio determines type and location of exam i.e. Shear or Longitudinal waves.

My company knows I don't have experience with this type of work, I just wanted to get a good feel for it and see if anyone has any comments.  I do see a few areas for concern that the current contracted NDE firm that is doing our examinations.
Parent - By CWI555 (*****) Date 11-15-2012 23:07
That wouldn't happen to be wind tower flanges would it? And yes, they are a PIA.
- - By CWI555 (*****) Date 11-15-2012 23:28