Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Tig root porosity...please help me kill the gremlins
- - By devo (***) Date 12-03-2012 17:40 Edited 12-03-2012 20:26
Yes I searched the forum already.......the search engine leaves a lot to be desired...if I say "Tig" i don't want to see posts with the word "Tight"

So I am trying to learn how to do a root pass (GTAW) on pipe.  60 deg. included angle, .25" wall thickness, 6" carbon steel pipe.  Tiny (<.030") land, gap between 3/32" and 1/8" (sucky bevel prep that I just have to deal with).  Filler 1/8" for the bigger gap, and 3/32" for the smaller.  Amps around 80 for the smaller gap/rod, and around 105 for the bigger.  3/32" red tungsten, #10 cup.  I've watched the vids on weldingtipsandtricks, and I have done quite a bit of steel and aluminum GTAW, so while I'm no expert, I don't suck.  I've learned how to deal with the aluminum gremlins so far, and steel rarely gives me trouble, but this is driving me nuts.