Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / AWS D1.1 table 3.2 preheat
- - By monte cook Date 12-13-2012 14:57
My Question is regarding table 3.2 and preheat of A36 plate material welding to A36 and A500 box tube. I work as a P.M. for fabrication company and our 3rd party CWI is insisting that as long as material is above 32 degrees F no preheat is required. Customer is claiming that above 3/4 in to 2-1/2" preheat of 150 degrees is required. My CWI was navy/civilian trained and has 30 yrs experience. Who is correct?
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 12-13-2012 15:12 Edited 12-13-2012 15:46
Monte,

WELCOME TO THE AWS WELDING FORUM!!

More information is needed to answer with 100% certainty.  Here's why:
1) the table breaks up the thichnesses as follows-  1/8 to 3/4 incl, Over 3/4 thru 1-1/2 incl, Over 1-1/2 thru 2-1/2 incl, and Over 2-1/2. 
2) you have not provided the process and/or filler material.
3) you have not provided the exact thickness of both components.

Now, with the information provided I would speculate thus:  It appears the material is over 3/4" but we don't know if it is over 1 1/2".  If, as is the usual case, a process and filler is required that puts us in Cat 'B' in the Table then we can conclude that the minimum pre-heat is required to be 50* F not 32* F.  If the material is OVER 1 1/2" then it is required to be 150*F (as the customer is insisting).   You must go by the thicker material being joined. 

BUT, if you are not using a filler that is Low-Hydrogen then the customer is closer as 3/4- 1 1/2" is 150* and over 1 1/2" is 225*.  (using the '*' for degrees because I forgot my attachment code to put a degree symbol in the text).  (well, I found the code, but it doesn't seem to work anymore.  Did our last forum update make it not possible to use?)