Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / Questions About Getting CWI
- - By hacksaw (*) Date 12-31-2012 21:51
I've been a welder for 18 years, certified in FCAW/GMAW,SMAW,GTAW. I would like to get my CWI so I can QC/QA inside the petro/chem plants. Is the API 1104 enough to get started in this field, or do I need the D1.1 to obtain stable employment? I'm not sure where to start. And, shouldn't my years of "hands on" welding experience help me in obtaining work in this field?

Also, I was wondering how hard it is to pass the test if I go through the 7 day seminar? I have heard many welders say it is very hard, and is an enormous waste of money if you fail the test.
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 01-01-2013 00:43
Greetings Hacksaw,

WELCOME TO THE AWS WELDING FORUM!!

First off, have you checked the requirements in B5.1 'Qualification of Welding Inspectors' to see if you are fully qualified?

Secondly, personally, I think the seminar is very worthwhile.  So are the suggested self-study books. 

As to which exam to take...only you can really decide.  There are many parts of the petro/chemical plants that require other API exams and knowledge, 670 for one.  AWS doesn't offer them. 

The test is very hard, especially for those not experienced in inspections.  I would never consider it a 'waste of money'.  But it is a major consideration. 

Have a Great Day,  Brent
Parent - - By hacksaw (*) Date 01-01-2013 17:36
Interesting. What part does 670 cover?

I'm finding QC's in many of the plants that seem to know little about welding or have any hands on experience. What qualifications would I need to have, other than 18 years of welding experience and a vo-tech diploma in welding? I haven't read anything about a "B5.1 requirement."
Parent - By welderbrent (*****) Date 01-01-2013 18:48