Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / trouble seeing
- - By lwtfnd Date 01-10-2013 16:31
I am an instructor and am having issues with one student who has had an eye exam and has good eyes but has trouble seeing the around the puddle in joints and surfaceing welds previous bead ext.
we have tried...
1. lighter filter lens
2. different stance
3. auto darkining
4. cheater lenses
5. additional light over weldment
6. chalk lines
7. different travel angle....
I am all out of ideas for this guy. can this guy "just not weld" he is smart and "gets it" but cant pick up anything around the puddle. any help?
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 01-10-2013 17:08
Have you tried using "his" hood yourself?

I have seen one or two lemons come down the road over the years.

After that...  Make the first straight surfacing weld yourself... Then hold his hand for the next 5 tied in stringers..  Than turn him loose for just 1 pass...  Go back to holding his hand for a few more.. Then turn him loose again.

Talk to him constantly while your holding his hand and making the tied in stringers... Tell him what your seeing.. Tell him the adjustments you are making..  Make the arc long and tell him.. "See I'm making the arc long"  "now I'm putting it where it should be".... See the difference?  Yes?  No?   Ok I'm gonna lift it again... Do you see that?

See th
Parent - - By lwtfnd Date 01-10-2013 17:45
Thanks for the help appreciated but Yes that is what is so frustrating I hold his hands, talk, explain and still nothing. His individual beads by them selves look great, straight, consistent, good travel speed, so he sees the puddle just nothing around the puddle. cant reference where he is on the plate in relation to other beads edges of plate. even when he comes to the end of the plate he keeps going onto the table.
Parent - - By supermoto (***) Date 01-10-2013 18:13