Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Tillman Gloves
- - By Tex (**) Date 01-18-2013 19:36
I was tearing the tag off of a new pair yesterday when I saw ion the bottom corner, "Made In China". I've been using Tillmans for 20 years or better. When did they start making gloves in China? I go out of my way and oftentimes pay a little more just to support an American company that provides jobs for American workers. I absolutely refuse to buy chinese products if I can possibly find American.

Here is the email I sent them. We'll see if they respond.

To whom it may concern,I have been involved in the construction and oilfield industries as a welder for over twenty years. Not long after i got started in the trade I got turned onto your gloves and have used nothing else since. The Tillman 1350 series glove has been my go to choice for years. They are light enough to allow me the feel I need on delicate projects and heavy enough to protect my hands on the big heavy and hot jobs.

I have done my best to turn others onto your product, but that all changed yesterday. Taking the tag off a new pair yesterday I saw in small print, "Made In China". I am not sure when this change came about, nor am I sure why. The fact remains though, my favorite brand of glove is no longer made in the USA. As an American craftsman who makes his living with his hands, I know the value of hard work and the American Dream. I go out of my way to use American products that provide jobs for American craftsmen and their families. Sometimes my beliefs have ended up costing me more money, but that is of little importance when I know that I am buying a superior American Made product.