Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / CWI mentorship
- - By 68Stank (*) Date 02-04-2013 18:40
I am fairly new to the world of weld inspection, received my certification in April of '12. Does anyone know of an experienced CWI in the Indianapolis area whom I may be able to call upon for advise or perhaps even shadow for a bit?

Thank you
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 02-04-2013 19:53
You're welcome to ask questions here. Lots of CWI and SCWI types here. I am leaning pretty heavily on the forum as I am always learning my way through this inspection experience.
Parent - By welderbrent (*****) Date 02-04-2013 20:44
While I agree with John, I also know where you are coming from.  The first guy I got linked up with was the best experience for me in actually applying my credetials to a job.  In a way, I wish that kind of 'apprenticeship' was mandatory.  Way too many of the people I see take and pass the exam are no where near ready to strike out on their own.  Like you say, just to be a shadow for a while and learn the fine points.

Don't know anyone right off the top of my head.  Hopefully someone will.

Have a Great Day,  Brent
Parent - By newinsp (**) Date 02-05-2013 00:56
Hi 68tank! 

I'm new too, as of July of '12.  There are a lot of really knowledgeable and swell guys here.  I ask some really strange questions and the guys are very cordial.  Like you, I'm trying to work for free under another CWI, a friend, locally.  He is almost 2 hours away and our schedules don't line up.  Don't know if it will happen, or not. 

Good luck!
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 02-05-2013 01:32
Hook up with people by attending AWS section meetings!

Very good place to make professional contacts.
Parent - By welderbrent (*****) Date 02-05-2013 03:32
I would offer another suggestion....