Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / question for you traveling welders
- - By ron.chapman (*) Date 02-17-2013 03:08
Im fresh outta trade school have my AWS pipe certs and my structural as well. Going to get my certs in downhill and stainless soon.  Im putting a rig together right now.  I want to get into the pipeline or get into shutdowns..... want to get my traveling on and make some decent cash... any help pointing me in the right direction.
Parent - - By Cumminsguy71 (*****) Date 02-17-2013 14:15
Do you have pipeline experience? Do you have experience in the oil patch? Do you know anybody in the pipeline world? Do you have any pipefitting experience? An answer of no to the first two questions and you will have a hard time getting anywhere. I have 18 years experience working/rebuilding everything from Cadillacs to Caterpillars. Electrical guru, computers, diesel, you name it. Called about a mechanic job in the patch. After hearing my experience they were drooling until the question of "have you ever worked in the oil and gas industry?" came up. My reply, nope. Their reply, well, sorry bud. Didn't matter how much experience I had or what magic I could work on a diesel in any condition. Just my experience to date that will carry over into the welding world. Research on here and you'll find lots of information. One thing is for certain, one eye open. I have heard countless stories about plenty of buddy f.....kin' in that area. If your not a buddy watch for the kabar sneaking up behind you.