Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Wet Welding!
- - By Len Andersen (***) Date 02-08-2003 18:45
Fellow AWS'er,
I am an engineer with five patents in welding most of which pertain to wet welding and + 20 years of experience with it. It is not magic and I would be happy to answer any questions about it.
Sincerely
Len Andersen
lenandersen.com
914-536-7101
weld@spemail.org
Parent - By CHUB380 (*) Date 02-08-2003 23:34
Please explain more, When to use it,what equiptment required, benefits over conventional welding ect. Thanks Chub380
Parent - - By Niekie3 (***) Date 02-09-2003 10:15
Hi Len

When you talk about "wet welding", is this "underwater welding", or is it something else?

Regards
Niekie Jooste
Parent - By MBSims (****) Date 02-11-2003 13:20
Niekie,

There are generally 2 types of underwater welding. "Dry" underwater welding is usually done inside a chamber or habitat and the surface being welded is dry, but typically under a pressure greater than 1 atmosphere. "Wet" welding is what folks normally think about when underwater welding, the surface being welded and the arc are in contact with the water.

Marty
Parent - - By scmait (*) Date 02-10-2003 16:19
Please explain further!
Parent - - By kpauley (*) Date 02-10-2003 16:22
We're Waiting!
Parent - - By RonG (****) Date 02-10-2003 17:45
All ears are turned toward this post.
A funny story while we wait for Len to reply.

We had a state safty inspector come through our shop a couple years ago and he got our safty manager (who understand nada concerning electricty) worked in to a frenzy because the termals where we attache the stinger leads to the welding machine were not insulated.

His remark was that someone could trip and fall across the positve and negative termanals and get killed.

My remark was Heaven forbid that the weld ever touch his work while holding the stinger.