Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Need help with test! flux core-pipe
- - By alax286 Date 02-08-2003 20:45
Guys, I need help from a pro. I am a pipe welder but have always run my beads with 6010 or tig. I have to test for a job that calls for 6" with flux core. Here are my questions, What gap? what size landing? what heat? what wire feed speed? do I weave, step my bead or what? do I hold my tip pointing upwards? I am lost at this. any advice would be appreciated. Thanks for everyones time...alen
Parent - By Niekie3 (***) Date 02-09-2003 10:48
Hi Alen

I am not an expert at this (I am not a welder.) but from my training days, I can remember the following:

1) Weld vertical up.
2) Do not weave the root. Rather hold the arc in the centre of the weld line.
3) Hold the wire feeding into the puddle just below where the gap is visible. If you try to hold it higher (pointing up) the wire will just shoot through gap resulting in pieces of wire sticking out on the inside of the weld.

The volts and wire feed speed settings should be available from the supplier. If you do not come right ask again, and I will haul out my procedure books to look up these parameters for you.

Regards
Niekie Jooste
Parent - - By wesley (*) Date 02-09-2003 13:45