Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / Looking for guidance
- - By JeremyW83 (***) Date 03-12-2013 00:04
I'm interested in a making a move in my career.  I'd like any insight or advice in the different ways of becoming a CWI or CWM.  I've been on the welding side for a little over 10 years.  I've looked into AWS' testing and prepatory options and Real Education Services.  Are either of these the best way of going about this career change?  Or is there a better option?  Thanks
Parent - - By supermoto (***) Date 03-15-2013 17:05
I got my CWI in 2006 and I am very happy I made that move.  I was a welder like yourself for 7 years and wanted to get into something less physical and get into the technical side of of the inspection and QC/QA.

Your best option is to just apply and get into a CWI pre course and take your exam.  AWS has a lot of these CWE, CWS, CWM, etc... but I think this is just a way for AWS to get a quick buck.  I haven't seen many employers looking for these endorsements.

I suggest signing up for a prep course and exam and getting all of the applicable books for study and just start reading about 30 minutes a day and getting familiar with all of the verbiage and terminology and how code read.  So by the time the prep course comes around you can relax a little bit and take in a lot more info.

Another option is to find a local company that does their own prep course.  This way can be good or bad.  Good because you can digest the info a little slower and not crammed in 40 hours.  The bad is that doesn't mean that they will teach you all the correct info as AWS instructor "should" be pretty good at delivering the correct info to the class.

Again not sure if the CWM is going to help but wouldn't hurt to get it, just a waste of money in my opinion in the current industry.