Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / Preheat - alternative methods
- - By gastonM (**) Date 03-21-2013 12:02
Talking about cold cracking...
If i use the same heat imput for multiple pass, than for single pass fillet welds. Am i at the security side?

Why D1.1 says?

ZONE II

Fillet welds - hardness control

Groove welds - hydrogen control

Regards

Gastón
Parent - - By newinsp (**) Date 03-23-2013 11:49
Hi gastonM. 

I'm not an expert on this, but...  I would probably just make a larger single pass fillet weld. 

The whole annex consistently mentions "single pass" fillet welds, even in the figures.  I would like to see what the experts say on this and why it says, "For groove welds, the hydrogen control method shall be used to determine preheat."
Parent - - By gastonM (**) Date 03-25-2013 15:06
Newinsp:

I can't do a larger single pass fillet weld because i use the minimum travel speed and maximun wire speed as permitted by WPS. My assumption is: if I let the pieces cools, to ambient temperature, in the next pass they will be in the same situation, and the cooling rate will be the same. If i do not let the pieces cools, any residual heat of previous pass will act as a preheat. But as you said, the annex I talks clearly of single pass then im not sure about my assumption. Respect of groove welds, i think that the annex, drives us, to hydrogen control because there is no sufficient laboratory test that provide consistent conclusions about the relationship of hardness, hydrogen and stress. Are you agree?

Best Regards.

Gastón
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 03-25-2013 20:34