Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Need engineer
- - By Robert48 (**) Date 03-26-2013 15:45 Edited 03-26-2013 16:03
I am in the process of building a product to use in the oil rig moving industry. I have made a couple of these in the past for the company I work for. We have used them and abused them to the max. Now I have the opportunity to build some on my own to sell to other companies. Since these will be used for various oil companies I know they are going to want capacities stamped on them. I am no engineer but I am very confident that this simple design is adequate for way more than it is going to be used for. I have had things engineered before and it has turned into an ordeal. We had a guy design some man baskets for us one time. We took a factory made one to his office to show what we wanted to build. The one he designed weighed twice as much and was rated for half as much. I need someone that has common sense which I know is going to be hard to find.  I can give more info later. Just wanted to get some opinions. Thanks in advance.
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 03-26-2013 16:29
As per your man basket example of engineering problems, just because it was factory made does not mean it was rated for OSHA approved capacities.  And, even if it was when originally built, the standards may have changed.  There are many companies that make and market particular items but when proper research is done they are not rated by the correct and applicable organization for safety, strength, approved features, etc.

I say that to say this, be careful about how you judge engineering.  They are often working off of incomplete information and/or applicable codes and quite possibly do not fully understand your application.