Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / I need experience!
- - By JPSweld (*) Date 06-21-2013 12:26
I am relatively new to the field and I am finding that it is extremely difficult to get verifiable experience.  I am almost done with the welding program at my local tech school but I am in desperate need of work.  If any one knows of companys in Rock Hill, SC that needs apprentice/helpers I would greatly appreciate the heads up.
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 06-21-2013 12:58
https://www.steel-careers.com/job/fittersfabricators/

Keep an eye out because Charlotte and Rock Hill areas have several Structural Steel Fab shops around. If you can get your foot in the door, they are always needing fitters and welders.
Parent - - By JPSweld (*) Date 06-21-2013 14:34
Thanks, I will continue looking.  so far I have applied to several jobs but I will start going through the phone book and call around.
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 06-21-2013 15:36
One of our project managers left us(certified structural fab shop) due to his wife gaining employment in Rock Hill, and he quickly found a job with a structural fabricator in that area. Plenty of employers in those areas near where you are looking...keep your eyes open and ear to the ground. Good Luck.
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 06-21-2013 13:19 Edited 06-21-2013 13:22
Approach fabricators and shops in your area and tell them you would like to intern with them. As an intern you won't collect a pay check, although a few manufacturers pay their interns a small stipend, but you will gain the experience you seek. It is not unheard of that the manufacturer hires the intern if they are impressed with the individual’s talents and work ethic.