Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Can someone tell me What Transverse Cross-Section Exam ?
- - By Michaelpham83 (*) Date 07-15-2013 07:24
Dear all,

My name is Michael, I'm a newbie, Today I have a question that need your help.

At the moment, I need to make a new part which has Hardfacing overlay. Base material is Nitronic50, hardfacing material is Co-Cr-W alloy, I've choosen Stellite 12.

In the Welding Specification from our customer, there are some requirements after welding, It states:
    4. ACCEPTANCE CRITERIA REQUIRED FOR WELDING PROCEDURE QUALIFICATION:
    4.1  Deposite chemistry requirements: ...
    4.2 Surface hardness requirements: Hrc 45 minimum
    4.3  Maximun allowable size of indications is as follow:
      - Liquid Penetrant Exam of Weld Overlay - None Allowed
      - Transverse Cross-Sectional Exam at 5X magnification - No linear indications in weld or HAZ

As far as I know:
  " Liquid Penetrant Exam of Weld Overlay - None Allowed " means: I should use Penetrant Method to examine welded overlay. And It should have no flaw/crack ... shown.
    But  " Transverse Cross-Sectional Exam at 5X magnification - No linear indications in weld or HAZ" I really don't  understand what it means.

Can you please tell me what I should do or which standards, specifications I should refer to ( AWS/ASME, .... )

Looking fowards to your help.

Thank you very much,
Best regards,
Michael
Parent - By maxilimiano (**) Date 07-15-2013 10:23
Hello Mike,

I think you must consistent with the design Code (that contain acceptance criteria and method of inspection)

Regards
Maxim
- - By 803056 (*****) Date 07-15-2013 10:55