Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / welding MIL-DTL-46100E to A36
- - By blanier (*) Date 08-06-2013 15:39
This is a structural application of welding A36 angle to MIL-DTL-46100E high hardness plate. The mil spec refers you to TACOM-Ground Combat Vehicle Welding Code -Steel. The welding and testing for a WPS-PQR is laid out in the TACOM manual for ballistic armor applications pretty well but I don't see the correlation to structural applications. Has anyone worked with these two materials being joined by conventional SMAW or FCAW??
Thanks, Bruce
Parent - By 803056 (*****) Date 08-07-2013 13:17
The welder qualification test may have nothing to do with the actual production welding requirements. The welder qualification test only requires the welder to demonstrate the ability to deposit a sound weld.

Best regards - Al
Parent - By G.S.Crisi (****) Date 08-07-2013 22:11
I have no experience with MIL materials.
However, from what you say, I imagine a ground combat vehicle made of MIL high hardness steel with some reinforcements, or stiffeners, made of A36 angle iron.
Caution, this is only imagination.
Giovanni S. Crisi
São Paulo - Brazil
Parent - - By Tyrone (***) Date 08-08-2013 11:29
Hey Bruce,
There isn't a structural correlation with TACOM's Code.  The design requirements, that you would normally see in AWS Welding Codes, were intentionally omitted from the Code.  TACOM relies on the Contractor's design house's personnel and processes for design and development.
Tyrone
Parent - - By Milton Gravitt (***) Date 08-08-2013 19:22
If you talking about 12479550 it has a non critial welds, critical welds and ballistic welds. The non critical and the critical say that you can used AWS D1.1 as a applicable reference,but the ballistic welds don't. That's the way I see it.

M.G.
Parent - - By Tyrone (***) Date 08-12-2013 12:40
Hey Milton,