Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / newbie seeking job advice.
- - By EdwardweldHands Date 09-10-2013 16:16
hey everyone

i need some advice or insight from the welding veterans. i'm a recent aws certified graduate in 6g pipe, and im getting very discouraged on trying to find a job. when i was in school the instructor filled my head with the false promises and unattainable goal of being able to easily acquire a job as soon as you graduate. its been almost 4 months now and ive had no luck. every job i look at and have been interviewed for requires previous job experience. therefore a 6g pipe cert means nothing? i cant simply quit my min. wage job to become a apprentice because i need income. i guess what i really want is a response too is how did the welding veterans first get their experience. i know im not the only struggling. how can a youngblood like me gain the exp. so i can actually get a job?
Parent - By unclematt (***) Date 09-10-2013 16:47
Hello EdwardweldHands;
I got my start in welding by being a helper. I worked in a crane manufacture shop. I would do the grinding, sweeping, cleaning, etc and at breaks and lunch would go out and practice welding. I got good enough to test and have been doing it ever since in one form or another. I do envy you on having a formal education in the art. I learned from the old timers. There is a wealth of knowledge that can be learned from these seasoned vets. You may go that route and be glad that you did. Helper jobs are not usually minimum wage and the experience can only help you; in my opinion. Best of luck with the job search.

Have a good one;
Matt
Parent - By welderbrent (*****) Date 09-10-2013 16:53
What I did back in 1975 to get my first paying welding job off the farm really doesn't mesh with today's job market requirements and this current economy.