Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / whats the best rod for dirty leaky poop pipe!
- - By williewelds Date 09-17-2013 16:21
im a welder in a waste water plant and we get sludge lines that crack or devolop pin holes at times. I have chased these leaks for 10 years now and always have a problem that when i weld the heat draws the water and sludge out and its hard to get it to seal...i mainly use a 6011 and cover it with a 7018 but its the same story..lasts a day or 2 then finds its way our...any help...please note these are always in the Y of 8" steel pipe..usually hard to get to and can only be done with stick due to the location

Thanks in advance
Parent - By welderbrent (*****) Date 09-17-2013 18:10
Billy,

WELCOME TO THE AWS WELDING FORUM!!

I would hazard a GUESS that the lines were not welded under strict oversight to a piping code.  Then, add the corrosive nature of the product with the abrasive action of the flow with heavy product in it and you will get fast deterioration at the 'Y'. 

In your situation thickness is your friend.  The more material, even utilizing a doubler of some sort, you get on there the longer it will last.  Add a couple of extra passes/layers over top. 

If you are making the repairs without totally purging and cleaning the lines then running the 6010/6011 as your first pass, and probably without pre-heat to burn things out and bring the temp up, will contribute to underbead/hydrogen cracking.  A lot of factors are fighting you on this one. 

It would probably work better to run the 7018 all the way out and I would still recommend using some pre-heat first.  I hope you are at least draining down the line.  Not that it can't be done with 'product' in it, but it will definitely be easier with no inside heat sink, hydrogen contributor reducing your chances of success. 

Have a Great Day,  Brent
Parent - - By G.S.Crisi (****) Date 09-17-2013 19:37