Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Training without equipment
- - By dschlotz (***) Date 10-09-2013 17:34
I am a retired fabricator welder, 48 yrs experience. I have been a CWI since 1996. I am volunteering in the metal shop, at a local high school. They have little or no equipment to learn the trade. I contacted Victor Equipment Co. about donating a track torch. The best they can do is a 35% discount off of MSRP. That's  to the school is about $3700. no torch or track. The entire budget for this class, 50 students over two class periods a day is $5,000, for the year. The welding machines that they have to learn SMAW, for the most part, don't even belong in a homeowners garage. The best machine they have is a 30 year old Idealarc, that really works well. How do I get some funding for this high school program? I'm willing to put in my time to teach, but I need tools for the class. If you have been down this road already, clue me in. I have a ready market for well trained students with a local fab outfit, but I can't lean on them for everything.

Dennis
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 10-09-2013 17:54
Hello Dennis,

Hopefully some of the instructors who frequent this forum will chime in, but...

I know there are grants out there for those who qualify.  If none of the guys here have knowledge of that I will put you in touch with one of the community college welding instructors here is AZ who can give you some help.  He is one of my AZ Section chairmen on the SENSE and Student Affairs committee.  Very knowledgeable about these things.

You can also usually get some help from local businesses.  Check around with companies in the area that need welders.  Let them know you would love to help educate and train employees for them but you need assistance to get better equipment.

I'll watch here and see if others give you some good suggestions for grants.