Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Weld test
- - By Bubaza123 Date 10-10-2013 04:42
I am pretty new to the welding trade and have been practicing for my weld test. From what I understand is that it will be a 2in carbon pipe in a 6g position inside a restricted box. If any one has the dimensions of the box so I can fab one up and practice inside the box and if you have any pointers on such test
Parent - - By Cumminsguy71 (*****) Date 10-11-2013 03:22
6GR I believe is what your describing. I had downloaded a description of it at one time showing the box, the angle, etc. Not sure if I still have it or for that matter where it is. Talked to my Uncle one time about it and he's been welding forever. He rambled of quite quickly how to do it calling out what he would weld first on the root, where he would look and on and on. Never had the need to do it myself. Seems like the info I had was a MIL Spec I got from somebody. I'll dig around and see if I can turn it up on this laptop of mine.

I second Superflux's comment though, contact the folks giving the test and find out what they have set up. Who knows, it may be different in some way.
Parent - - By aevald (*****) Date 10-11-2013 03:46
Hello Shawn, the 6GR is the 45 degree inclined fixed pipe test with the restrictor plate/ring right above the groove, box not include for that one.

The test that includes the box is typically a shipyard test as someone else has commented. And that's my story and I'm sticking to it.........that is until somebody else proves me wrong, probably not too hard sometimes. Best regards, Allan
Parent - By welderbrent (*****) Date 10-11-2013 12:22
No proving wrong on this one Allan.