Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Are imperfections on oversized welds ok?
- - By MRWeldSoCal (***) Date 10-10-2013 22:22
To all,

So as a few of you know I am a beginner CWI, and today I went to a very large scale and wealthy oil drill manufacturer and walked and chatted with one of their CWI's.  We walked and talked welds and whats acceptable. Their company is very particular and want show quality welds on everything they made and everything they sub out (our company). 

Now to the point, we went over a few welds that I saw in their QC department, they had a few welds I noticed with cold lap that they accepted.  The cold lap was in a way that it could easily propogate a crack. I asked him why they were not flagged for repair and he said the flaw was outside the weld size profile and it was ok.  I think that contridicts the point and logic I have learned from all you fine gents.  If a crack can start, why does it matter if if it clears the weld size profile?  I attached a photo, and this is totally pulled off google and is an exaggeration of what these other welds look like to an extent, but hopefully you get my idea. 

I thought that if there was a defect, it was a defect and should be fixed. regardless if it meets the weld size.  If a weld is big its just a big weld, but if a weld has a cold lap that is nearly a "pinch" along the toe edge of a weld, it seems to me that that would be note for repair.  Seeing as a mojority of their parts are cyclically loaded.

Jordan
Attachment: bad-welds1.jpg (45k)
Parent - By aevald (*****) Date 10-10-2013 23:02