Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / New guy from Michigan. CWI Rates
- - By Chad_c Date 10-15-2013 18:12 Edited 10-15-2013 18:14
Hey guys, just recently got my CWI. And I was wondering what the rates are? I work for a resistance welding company and I'm new to this world. I'm a mig, Tig, Stick guy. Well I was talking to the owner about doing welder certification work with some of our customers (ford, gm, Chrysler And a variety of tier 2 and 3 companys ect.) ands he seems on board with it. He ask med me if I could get price list together and see what we can do. I'd love to get into the Heavy plate welding field again, hopefully this works out.

Thanks for any help!
-chad
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 10-15-2013 23:12
Chad,

WELCOME TO THE AWS WELDING FORUM!!

Congratulations on passing the CWI exams. 

Now the fun part.  Doing welder certifications usually takes some training.  What they taught you at the seminar only scratched the surface.  A CWI does not have to witness nor sign certifications.  As far as the type of resistance that your 'customers' do...they probably have everything under control when it comes to QC requirements.  You will also find the codes totally different going from whatever you tested to and switching to the automotive codes. 

Rates vary depending upon geographic location, type of work, employed or contract services, and much more.  But, you are not going to be dealing with hourly rates ususally when doing that kind of work.  Normally, for myself, I get a description of exactly what the customer needs and then work out a price based upon number of people, number of coupons, and other variables.  It can get quite involved trying to put a package together.

We'll see what others tell you that may build on this line of thinking.

Have a Great Day,  Brent
Parent - - By Chad_c Date 10-16-2013 01:04