Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / Would CWI license be worthwhile?
- - By 213gragan Date 10-18-2013 14:28
Right now I'm trying to figure out what it is I'm going to do with my trade. I've got 11 years welding experience jumping around in different environments. Ultimately, I want to make the most money possible to fund opening my own side business someday of doing ornamental gates/staircases/gazebos and things of that nature. Might have a bite on a non union pipe welding gig right now. I might also have an opportunity to have the shop I'm at now send me to CWI training after the end of the fourth quarter. That's only a possibility though and I'm barely able to survive on the maximum 40 hours that I'm getting at this shop. Only been here for a year so I'm not married to it. In the end I don't believe I'm going to stay here at this shop regardless. There isn't any work here and I'm not welding as is. Do CWIs make much more money than welders and would it be pretty much a complete career reboot? Would I be starting at the bottom level 1? Or should I just go ahead and get my own rig, stand on the side of the road with a sandwich board that reads "HAVE WELDER-WILL TRAVEL"?
Parent - By welderbrent (*****) Date 10-18-2013 15:43
CWI's make less money per hour than welders with their own rigs but don't have the overhead.  They usually make more than welders employed at a shop.

Worth it?  That all depends upon you, your goals, and what you like to do.

Have a Great Day,  Brent
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 10-18-2013 17:23
If your employer offers to send you to the training... GO!