Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / CWI For Engineers
- - By rturnbow Date 10-30-2013 21:20
I am a Facility Engineer with 6 years experience in various fields of oil & gas engineering (structural, mechanical, piping, etc).  I am currently looking into taking the CWI as I deal with a significant amount of welding and would like to be able to converse more fluently on the subject (I also have a general interest in welding).  I recently recieved backing from my company so I have fairly good resources to become prepared and am currently located in Houston.  I have some weld design experience from my days as a structural engineer, have about a year of field experience as a site engineer that resulted in some interaction with welding, and have taken part in many shop visits/inspections but have not actually done any significant welding.  I am in no way looking into becoming employed as an inspector at this time, just interested in the topic and want to better myself.  A few questions for the crowd:

1. What classes should I take to learn the most about welding? (Community college classes, CWI Pre-Seminar Online Course, CWI Seminar, etc) Keep in mind I work full time at a fairly demanding job.
2. What is the likelihood of my passing the exam? 
3. Is there a best way to prepare for the hands on portion for inexperienced welders?
4. Is there a better certification or path I should take for a similar time/money investment?  My primary purpose is to better myself but also see the CWI as a nice resume booster.  Does anyone suggest an alternate?

Any and all suggestions or commentary are welcome.  Thanks everyone for your help.
Parent - By Tyrone (***) Date 10-31-2013 10:40
Welcome to the AWS Forum rturnbow!

Wow.  You want to become a CWI to enhance your knowledge and be able to speak the welding lingo?  That sounds like major overkill to me....