Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / lookin to get a certification.
- - By michael english Date 11-13-2013 04:41
Im currently attending Tulsa Welding School im only 18 but i am a very motivated welder and i love welding been doin it since i was little and im interested in getting a certification but i dont know what  cert would be best for me. one of my instructors told me that i should try the cwi but i heard its extremely hard and i dont have the money at to time to attempt  it, so im wandering if yall could give me some help on what would be best. im open to anything and would appreciate the help. thanks       EMAIL-michaelenglish20@yahoo.com
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 11-13-2013 12:44
Michael,

WELCOME TO THE AWS WELDING FORUM!!   And the world of welding as well.

Now, First off, you have no where near the pre-requisite number of years experience and or education to qualify to take the AWS CWI Certification Exams.  So, that lets that one out. 

Since you are going to welding school and are young, I would have thought they would have meant that you should do a welding coupon test to a particular code to see if you could be qualified as a welder.  That would open the door for you in finding work as you prepare for real world welding occupational employment.  Some school provide this though there is much question about it's value and merit.  It would be best to locate and use the services of a CWI to get Third Party Independent certification that can go with you to a certain degree though you will often still have to take a welding test at the place you are seeking employment.  That was probably what the instructor meant.  Not that you should try to become a CWI at this present moment, but that you should find one to take a welding test and be recognized as a qualified welder.

Just my two tin pennies worth.

Have a Great Day,  Brent