Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / does brand matter?
- - By mainiac Date 03-01-2003 23:10
hey all, im new to the board this is my first post! i took a half year course on basic welding at school and i really enjoyed it and learned alot. now i want to buy a welder for myself, to use on my truck and car and on other crazy and unusual projects (im 17). i was wondering what everyones thoughts were on the welders for sale at walmart (hausfeld?) and if it would be worth it to get it or if its just not built well. keep in mind that i am a high school student and have very limited funds. another thing i was wondering was if you think it would be a good idea to invest in a nice (though less expensive) stick welder for now. or a lower end mig welder.

btw, the mig at walmart is 80amps has infinate wire settings but only 4 voltage(or wattage?) settings and doesnt come with a bottle for about $250 and the stick welder is 80 amps w/ 4 settings for about $90

thanx in advance
~erk
Parent - By welder_guy2001 (***) Date 03-02-2003 01:21
you'll be able to weld 1/8" steel w/ that mig welder. 80 amps isn't very much. 130 amps is ok for 1/4" steel. you could always buy it, try it out, and w/ walmart's return policy, you could always take it back if it's not what you want. hehehehe
Parent - - By mcavana (**) Date 03-02-2003 07:18
I think it is best to have a stick welder first. You will be able to use it for almost anything, and is less expensive to get started. The skills you develope will only help you with other processes that you get into later. try to get one with 175 amp capability. I think lincoln sells one now that is just a couple hundred dollars. However if you ONLY plan to use it on vehicles and very thin metals, the mig welder would be more practical. Hope this helps... I doubt it does :)
Parent - - By mainiac Date 03-02-2003 17:43