Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Metallurgy / Please Help! TIG weld 17-4H1025 bending failure
1 2 Previous Next  
- - By Michaelpham83 (*) Date 12-06-2013 13:48
Dear everyone,

I am Michael, I am a mechanical engineer,

at the moment, I need to do TIG weld 17-4H1025 (150 KSI Yield strength, 160KSI UT strength, 39HRC).
Weld sample is tube, OD 3.6" , wall thickness .2" ( OD 91mm, wall thickness 5mm)
I'm using Rod ER630, 1.6mm and Argon 99.99% , Flow rate 16l/m , Amps 150

We have welded 2 times and sent the samples to Third Party Laboratory Test in accordance with ASME Section IX (2010)
But all samples failured at bending test. All samples broken. Note: the result after testing: 148 KSI Tensile strength at weld metal, Bend test: broken.

I realy don't know how to solve this problem now.
Could someone please advise me something in order that I can pass the test. (e.g : amps , volts, Flow rate, .... or anything )

I am looking forwards to your help!

Thank you very much,
Best regards,
Michael
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 12-06-2013 15:30
Hi Michael,
Just a thought,
Review the MTR for your material and make sure everything looks OK.
You may want to start there and see if the material is the correct 150ksi yield. If the material is the wrong yield you may never pass regardless of how many times you send it out to the lab.

BTW, are these Fillet welds? or Groove welds?

What condition are you purchasing the material in?, and what heat treatment is this getting after it is welded?
Every product data sheet that I looked at online says that this needs to be considered to obtain the best mechanical properties.
I'm not familiar with this type of stainless, but maybe someone else can help you narrow down your problem if you reply back with the heat treatment conditions.
Parent - - By Michaelpham83 (*) Date 12-06-2013 15:55
Hi John Wright,
Thank you very much for your reply soon!