Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Pipe rail fab tips
- - By Eric Carroll (**) Date 12-08-2013 21:20
Every once in awhile we get a pipe rail job, stainless, steel or aluminum. As I have never worked in a large production fab shop, most of our techniques are self taught. The two areas I would like some tips on- they are outside corners with a post- I see some pipe rail with a rounded corner that looks cleaner than a 45* miter joint sitting on top of a notched post. I figure there is some sort of compound miter done to all three parts to get this look? Second is when cutting on the bandsaw or cold saw how do you keep the miters square? We use a large piece of angle on the feed table or the out feed table to square the next cut off of the previous one. Sometimes the guys will use torpedo level too. I even just eyeball some stuff. But I need to streamline this process, because when the cuts are bad on a high end stainless job it adds a lot of finishing time to hide the bad cuts. Thanks for any advice.
Parent - By tazmannusa (**) Date 12-08-2013 23:17
Hello Eric
I have done them several different ways over the years but for a nice rounded tight corner, weld elbows seem to be the best. For miter cuts on the small stuff I usually just eyeball it but on the larger I just run a straight line on both sides
  Tom
Parent - - By Smooth Operator (***) Date 12-09-2013 00:54
Eric , best thing for a corner is a "formed side out" which is made by R.B. Wagner out of Millwakee , WI........Best way to cope "fish mouths" is with a manual  notcher ( for 90*) or a Linders abrasive belt notcher for the rakes ( slopes)........ After about a 100 notches you get real good at doing it by eye........
Parent - - By Eric Carroll (**) Date 12-09-2013 05:02