Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Make fun of the noob video!
- - By kung fu panda (*) Date 12-23-2013 02:01 Edited 12-23-2013 02:04
I am a relative noob at welding. I probably have welded through 3 or 4 10 lb spools over two years. Anyway I have been practicing more earnestly lately and was hoping forum members would take a peak at this video I recorded showing some of my recent work.

During the last few months I have been doing some research on mig welding and have come across a couple of threads on various forums mentioning the use of a clamp meter on the mig work lead to use as a point of reference. So I thought I would try using one and recording the results of the reads as I welded. My thought was that, along with just looking at the weld results, if I watch the video of the amp reading it could also lend me some insight into how well I was keeping my stick out during the weld.

Here are the results…feel free to flame on it, and, if up for it, give a few thoughts on the results, i.e. any welding defects you can recognize and any advice.... other than..."give up"...  :wink:

Video factoids: three different welds are shown using a MillerMatic 252 welding 1/4" to 1/2" mild steel in a tee joint, .035" metal cored wire, 26 volts, 500 WFS , 1/2" stick out, 98% Argon 2% Oxygen

http://youtu.be/3ttsh6vF5LA
Parent - - By Tyrone (***) Date 12-23-2013 14:31
Hey Panda,
You are getting large changes on the meter because you are manually welding. Tiny changes in contact tip to work distance will result in the machine changing the amperage to compensate.  That's why the meter is jumping.  Even with a robot, it fluctuates, but not as much.
You'll produce better welds if you can keep your tip to work distance constant (think and feel like a robot).  If you can hold the gun closer to your body, support your arm by leaning on work piece, and use two hands, you'll get better.