Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / AWS Learning & Education / Veteran seeking schooling with use of VA chapter 31
- - By Patrick0317 Date 01-20-2014 02:41
Hello all,

Im new to the forums and have been searching them trying to find any information about veterans using VA voc rehab or chapter 31 to attend a welding school. So far I haven't been too lucky so I figured I'd just post my questions and see what happens. I apologize in advance if Im breaking any posting rules. I'll start by giving some insight to my situation and what I think I know.

ok, so Im a Marine Corps infantry vet and got out in 2011 due to service connected disabilities. Im rated from the VA at 80% but have just gone through the chapter 31/voc rehab entitlement process. I've met with a voc rehab counselor once and during the meeting I informed the counselor that I would like to go to welding school. I live in Crestview Florida and have found a technical school in Pensacola that offers a welding program who works with vets and VA on a regular basis. My problem is I have to convince my voc rehab counselor that welding, as a career choice, will not aggravate any of my service connected disabilities. (im rated 10% for my back, 10% for my left shoulder and 10% for my knees with the other 50% due to PTSD) I am trying to gather as much first hand information from anyone who might have some insight with related experience. Any and all help is much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Parent - - By Blaster (***) Date 01-20-2014 07:07
First, thanks for stepping up and making personal sacrifices very few are willing to endure for their country.