Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Microscope advice
- - By Superflux (****) Date 01-29-2014 18:42
Much to my chagrin, I have little to no lab time/experience. Just a hairy backed, Knuckle dragging, iron worker, welder, boilermaker that some how skated in to a CWI with a 70.000001% passing grade. But it is never to late to rectify a mistake or life's short comings.
I am looking to buy a microscope for observing grain structure. Any advice on what power is needed, a particular make/model, lighting techniques and other advicewill be greatly appreciated.
I found this one with good reviews. I wish I could justify a Nikon or other instruments that run between $1K to $10K, but this not an instrument/tool that I can bill out on a timesheet.
http://www.amazon.com/OMAX-40X-2000X-Biological-Microscope-Mechanical/dp/B004RZXINU/ref=cm_cd_ql_qh_dp_t
Parent - - By 46.00 (****) Date 01-29-2014 20:45
I have very limited lab time but if I was looking for a microscope, you should be aware that it is really a Metallurgical microscope you need and not a biological one like your link references.Brunel microscopes are good as are Olympus.

http://www.brunelmicroscopes.co.uk/Metallurgical.html
Parent - - By Superflux (****) Date 01-29-2014 22:34
Thanks for the advice and link.
Never realized there was any difference.
So much for the $500.00 budget I originally had in mind. Anyone in the market for a well used kidney...
Parent - - By 46.00 (****) Date 01-29-2014 23:17
Metallurgical Microscopes are capable of generating a light source from above the specimen, whereas Biological Microscopes usually project a light source thru the specimen relying on the opacity of the item being viewed. They also do not usually require quite so high magnification rates. Having said that, there are many different types now and I'm sure you could find a very good used item within your budget.