Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / AWS Learning & Education / Teaching welding
- - By Euskera (*) Date 02-05-2014 20:10
Hello everybody:

I am a Mechanical Engineer and I have made my career working in Hydroelectrical and Thermoelectrical power plants.

I think that I have got a good knowledge in Fluids Mechanics, Heat Transfer, Metallurgy and a couple of other branches of the Mechanical Engineering.

Over the years, being a supervisor and as a requirement of my job I have been involved in welding works, some normal type and some rather special. In such circumstances and as a personal initiative, I have given theoretical technical support to the technicians performing the welding.

I have always been a self-taught person in welding; and I can say that I have a good THEORETICAL background in welding.
But, here is the problem (believe it or not): I am not a welder. The last bead of welding I put on a plate was several years ago, when I was in high school.

Going to the point, I wonder how can I transmit (to teach the little bit I know) to students (apprentices) of welding if I am not a welder? It would be catastrophic for me, if an apprentice asked me to show him/her how to make a good weld bead or to explain any manual technique.

I hope you, my people on the forum, can give some guidance on this subject that certainly excites me.
Parent - By 46.00 (****) Date 02-05-2014 21:50 Edited 02-05-2014 21:59
Euskera, the simple answer to your question is you cannot.

If you have little or no experience of actual welding, it would be folly to try and teach someone the mechanics of welding.